Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Us
Share |


Our committees are an opportunity for Members to roll up their sleeves to develop policies, recommendations, publications and artifacts for SC Cyber and the Palmetto State's cyber ecosystem and cyber community.

Given our Vision of creating an integrated the talent, tools, and techniques necessary to protect South Carolina's connected critical infrastructure and economy, SC Cyber will methodically and strategically add committees to address the needs of the organization and profession.The Board of Director's Membership Committee governs these committees.


Committee Chair Opportunity


To apply for the position of Chair, you must be a Voting Memberand complete this application.



Apply now


Current SC Cyber Committees 


Communications Committee


The Communications Committee is responsible for providing the IPSA information and direction on the current and projected status of communication centers within the public safety spectrum as it pertains to operations, training, response and professional development.


While working earnestly within the IPSA mission, this committee will effect positive change by collaborating with other committees, and information-sharing within the membership. The committee will work diligently to develop strategies, publish articles and distribute any pertinent information through various mediums that will aim to enhance the overall understanding of communication centers and the vital role of telecommunicators in emergency response.


The overarching goal of this committee shall be to contribute to the progressive evolution of communication centers, creating a direct and positive impact on the public and public service community. Niky Smith, Communications Center Manager with Cypress Creek EMS serves as Chair.



Emerging Technologies Committee


The Emerging Technologies in Public Safety Committee consists of representatives in law enforcement, fire, EMS, and the private sector. This Committee is responsible for providing the IPSA with contemporary information on all matters relating to the development and implementation of operational and tactical technology solutions that have application in Law Enforcement, Fire, EMS, Emergency Management, and Security. Alix Cassagnol with NYPD Counterterrorism serves as Chair. 



Memorial Committee


The IPSA is accepting applications for committee member appointments through July 31. 


The IPSA's Memorial Committee is responsible for capturing LODDs in the United States and Canada and reviewing that data to identify and develop policy. The committee is currently developing articles about LODDs for IPSA's Public Safety Column to help build awareness about data trends we're seeing. Further, the Memorial Committee is working on its first LODD Annual Report that will be published in January 2018. The report will be an assessment of 2017 LODD data. This is a working committee. All committee members should expect to volunteer between 3-8 hours of time each month. James Dundas, retifed firefighter, serves as Chair.



Multidiscipline Mentoring Committee


Public Safety Professionals often find that they have to wear several hats throughout their career. For example, you may start your career by working patrol, then a few years later you’re on the SWAT Team, and then you’re promoted to Sergeant and performing administrative functions like budgeting and strategic planning. Often times, as a result of your success and professional growth, you may find that their organization does not have adequate training resources or skilled personnel in place to help bridge the gap when you’re given a new assignment or promoted into a new role. This committee oversees the new IPSA Mentoring Program. Chief Brian Bayani with Northwest EMS (TX) serves as Chair. 



Peer Review Committee


The purpose of the Peer Review Committee is to provide the International Public Safety Association guidance in all matters relating to the development of the IPSA Journal. The Peer Review Committee is ultimately responsible for the review and collectively approve or reject a submission based on the criteria the committee established. Dr. Rick Bistline, retired law enforcement and leadership/trainer, serves as Chair.



TEMS Committee


Tactical Emergency Medical Support is integral to SWAT and police Tactical Units in providing Special Operations Medicine in the pre-hospital setting. Tactical medics deliver point of wounding care in the direct threat, indirect threat and tactical evacuation phases of the austere environment. TEMS responds to high threat incidents such as: high risk warrants, terrorist attacks, active shooters and other intentional mass casualty incidents. The IPSA TEMS Committee is committed to serving the IPSA mission and will contribute to the professional development of the public safety community. This committee will create an international database of TEMS resources, training materials and standard operating procedures. Through collaboration it will share publications, case studies and journal entries based on best practices and experiences from the tactical environment. The TEMS Committee will work together with all IPSA committees to establish an all hazards approach and integrated response to public safety emergencies. Shane Fitzpatrick, EMT-P at Emergency Medical Services, Calgary Metro Alberta Health Services serves as Chair.



UAS Committee


The IPSA UAS committee will address contemporary issues relating to UAS programs and public safety. Specifically, the IPSA UAS committee will research to develop papers, policy, position statements and relevant artifacts for the IPSA to share with the global public safety community. In addition, the committee may create a training course or host a seminar for public safety about UAS programs.


Charles Werner (Charlottesville Fire Chief Ret.- Emeritus) serves as Chair. Chief Werner is also the lead organizer and interim chair for the National Council on Public Safety UAS and is a certified Part 107 Remote Pilot with the Albemarle County Sheriff's Search and Rescue Team. Charles also serves on the NPSTC UAS Working Group and the Metro Washington COG UAS Working Group.


Appointments will be for 3 years. All committee members appointed will have to maintain their IPSA membership and remain in good standing during appointment.


This is a working committee and it is volunteer-based. All appointed members are expected to participate in each meeting to help the committee meet its goals.


Committee meetings are remote. No travel is required unless agreed upon by the entire committee.

more Calendar

8/21/2017 » 8/24/2017
Cyberterrorism First Responder (CFR)

9/6/2017 » 9/7/2017
Critical Asset Risk Management (MGT 315)

Contact Us

1225 Laurel Street
Suite 317
Columbia, SC 29201

Stay Connected


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal